North West School of Pathology - Home

School of Pathology Home

 

Welcome to the North West School of Pathology

 

Health Education England North West Mersey & NW (HENW) School of Pathology aims to provide the best training and support to all our trainees.

Dr Lipsita Patnaik has recently been appointed as the new Head of School. The Associate Postgraduate Dean is Dr Mumtaz Patel.

Opportunities exist within the Deanery for subspecialty training in all of the pathology disciplines.

The School actively encourages trainees to be involved in school activity and have trainee representatives on the school board and executive.

The School oversees the training in Chemical Pathology, Medical Microbiology, Virology and Histopathology (including the subspecialties of Paediatric Pathology, Cytopathology and Neuropathology). The aim is to provide specialist training to ensure new consultants are appointed with the knowledge and skills required for professional practice.

   

 
Head of the North West School of Pathology

 


Dr Lipsita Patnaik

Email: dr.patnaik@hee.nhs.uk

Blackpool Victoria Hospital
Whinney Heys Road
Blackpool
FY3 8NR

 

 
Associate Postgraduate Dean for Pathology

  


Dr Mumtaz Patel

Email: mumtaz.patel@hee.nhs.uk

Health Education England
Three Piccadilly Place
Manchester
M1 3BN

 

 

Associate Head of School 

 


Dr Vinita Mishra

Email: vinita.mishra@rlbuht.nhs.uk 

Royal Liverpool University Hospital
Prescot Street
Liverpool
L7 8XP

  

 

School of Pathology Key Contacts

 

Specialty North Western Mersey
Chemical Pathology Dr Michael France
Email:michael.france@cmft.nhs.uk
Combined Infection Training TPD to be appointed – current representatives:
Infectious Diseases Dr Alec Bonington
Email: alec.bonington@pat.nhs.uk
Dr Tom Blanchard
Email: thomas.blanchard@rlbuht.nhs.uk
Medical Microbiology and Virology Dr Andrew Dodgson
Email: andrew.dodgson@mft.nhs.uk
Dr Timothy Neal
Email: timothy.neal@rlbuht.nhs.uk
Histopathology Dr Edmund Cheesman
Email: edmund.cheesman@mft.nhs.uk
Dr Carol Ross
Email: carol.ross@sthk.nhs.uk

 

Role Name Email 
School of Pathology Careers Lead

Bianca Da Gama-Rose

Bianca.DaGama-Rose@lthtr.nhs.uk

Academic Representative

Richard Byers

r.byers@manchester.ac.uk

LTFT lead

Cecilia Jukka

cecilia.jukka@aintree.nhs.uk

 

 

HEE North West School of Pathology Training Programme Management Team

 

The HEE North West School of Pathology Training Programme Management Team are based at HEE's Liverpool Office.

Role Name Email Address Telephone Number
Programme Support Manager for Pathology Natalie Dawson natalie.dawson@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2615
Programme Support Co-ordinator for Pathology Kaleigh Fennah kaleigh.fennah@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2505
Programme Support Administrator for Pathology Sarah Mrozek pathology.nw@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2574

 

General enquiries from Trainees should be emailed to the School of Pathology Programme Support Team on the following email address: pathology.nw@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

HEE North West Lead Employer

 

From 1 October 2018 St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust is the Lead Employer for the whole of the North West region.

St Helens & Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Website www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk  
General Queries Email: lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk Tel: 0151 426 1600
Payroll Email: leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk Tel: 0151 290 4658

 

 

Important Dates

06

JUNE

2019

Chemical Pathology Summer ARCP

VENUE: HEE's Liverpool Office (Regatta Place)

 

17

June

2019

North Western Combined Infection Training Summer ARCP

VENUE: HEE's Manchester Office (PP3)

  

1

July

2019

Mersey Combined Infection Training Summer ARCP

VENUE: HEE's Liverpool Office (Regatta Place)

   

9

July

2019

North Western Histopathology Summer ARCP

VENUE: HEE's Manchester Office (PP3)

   

16

JULY

2019

Mersey Histopathology Summer ARCP

VENUE: HEE's Liverpool Office (Regatta Place)

 

Useful Links

 

link icon The Royal College of Pathology

link icon Careers Advice

Policies & Procedures


Page Last Updated 17th April 2019