North West School of Pathology - Home

 

School of Pathology Home

 

 

 

Welcome to the North West School of Pathology

 

 

Health Education England North West (HEE NW) School of Pathology aims to provide the best training and support to all our trainees.

Dr Lipsita Patnaik is the current Head of School for the School of Pathology and Dr Mumtaz Patel is Associate Dean. 

Opportunities exist within the Deanery for subspecialty training in all of the pathology disciplines.

The School actively encourages trainees to be involved in school activity and have trainee representatives on the school board and executive.

The School oversees the training in Chemical Pathology & Metabolic Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Infectious Diseases (inc Tropical Medicine), Virology and Histopathology (including the subspecialties of Paediatric Pathology, Forensic Pathology and Neuropathology). The aim is to provide specialist training to ensure new consultants are appointed with the knowledge and skills required for professional practice.

   

 

 
Head of the North West School of Pathology

 

 


Dr Lipsita Patnaik

Email: dr.patnaik@hee.nhs.uk

Blackpool Victoria Hospital
Whinney Heys Road
Blackpool
FY3 8NR

 

 

 
Associate Postgraduate Dean for Pathology

 

  


Dr Mumtaz Patel

Email: mumtaz.patel@hee.nhs.uk

Health Education England
Three Piccadilly Place
Manchester
M1 3BN

 

 

 

Associate Head of School 

 

 


Dr Vinita Mishra

Email: vinita.mishra@rlbuht.nhs.uk 

Royal Liverpool University Hospital
Prescot Street
Liverpool
L7 8XP

  

 

 

 

School of Pathology Key Contacts

 

 

Specialty North Western Mersey
Chemical Pathology Dr Michael France
Email:michael.france@cmft.nhs.uk
Infectious Diseases  Dr Alec Bonington
Email: alec.bonington@pat.nhs.uk
Dr Tom Blanchard
Email: thomas.blanchard@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Medical Microbiology and Virology  Dr Andrew Dodgson
Email: andrew.dodgson@mft.nhs.uk
Dr Timothy Neal
Email: timothy.neal@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Histopathology Dr Edmund Cheesman
Email: edmund.cheesman@mft.nhs.uk
Dr Carol Ross
Email: carol.ross@sthk.nhs.uk

 

Role Name Email 
School of Pathology Careers Lead

Bianca Da Gama-Rose

Bianca.DaGama-Rose@lthtr.nhs.uk

Academic Representative

Richard Byers

r.byers@manchester.ac.uk

LTFT lead

Cecilia Jukka

cecilia.jukka@aintree.nhs.uk

 

 

 

HEE North West School of Pathology Training Programme Management Team

 

 

The HEE North West School of Pathology Training Programme Management Team are based at HEE's Liverpool Office.

Role Name Email Address Telephone Number
Programme Support Manager for Pathology Natalie Dawson natalie.dawson@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2615
Programme Support Co-ordinator for Pathology Kaleigh Fennah kaleigh.fennah@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2505
Programme Support Administrator for Pathology Teresa Guy pathology.nw@hee.nhs.uk 0151 479 2568

 General enquiries from Trainees should be emailed to the School of Pathology Programme Support Team on the following email address: pathology.nw@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

HEE North West Lead Employer

 

 

From 1 October 2018 St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust is the Lead Employer for the whole of the North West region.

St Helens & Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
Website www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk  
General Queries Email: lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk Tel: 0151 426 1600
Payroll Email: leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk Tel: 0151 290 4658

 Links for Support

 

 

If you are a trainee experiencing difficulties, please follow this link: https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/tres for further support. 

There is an updated NW SuppoRTT Guidance document available here: https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supportt-process 

For information on Return to Training: https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supported-return-to-training 

 

 

Important Dates

 

 

13

October

2020

School of Pathology Board Meeting

VENUE: MS Teams

 

15

december

2020

Histopathology Winter ARCP

VENUE: TBC

 

11

january

2021

Medical Microbiolgy & Infectious Diseases ARCP

VENUE: TBC

 

11

May

2021

School of Pathology Spring Board

VENUE: TBC

 

01

JUne

2021

Chemical Pathology & Metabolic Medicine ARCP

VENUE: TBC

 

Useful Links

 

 

link icon The Royal College of Pathology

link icon Careers Advice

Policies & Procedures

SuppoRTT pre/post absence support - www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supportt-process

 

College Registration & ePortfolios

 
 

 

Infectious Diseases, Tropical Medicine and General Internal Medicine (GIM) must register with JRCPTB and access the ePortfolio through the College on registration to list all placements, supervisors and WPBAs. All guidance and help will be through the college: https://www.jrcptb.org.uk/eportfolio-information 

Trainees who are joint Medical Microbiology, Medical Virology with Infectious Diseases will need to register as a joint trainee with RCPath: https://www.rcpath.org/trainees/training/register-as-a-trainee/online-registration-form-joint-trainees.html - trainees will access JRCPTB to record training competencies.

Histopathology specialities and Chemical Pathology (incl Metabolic Medicine) must register with Royal College of Pathologists (RCPath) and register to access the LEPT eportfolio system to list all placements, supervisors and WPBAs. All guidance and help will be through the College: https://www.rcpath.org/trainees/assessment/learning-environment-for-pathology-trainees-lept.html 

 

Page Last Updated 24 August 2020