North West School of Paediatrics

 

 

Welcome to the North West
School of Paediatrics

Introduction

Contacts

Where we provide training

ARCPs

Important dates

HEE North West Links

 

   Exclamation mark

Coronavirus (COVID 19)

Information can be found by clicking here

 

 

 

 Introduction:

 

The Deanery School of Paediatrics aims to provide a comprehensive high-quality teaching and education programme for those interested in training in paediatrics. Training in paediatrics in this deanery follows a syllabus set by The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) and takes account of national guidance by the General Medical Council.

 

The School of Paediatrics also provides strategic leadership for the recruitment of trainees to paediatric specialties. It arranges for the recruitment and induction of trainees from the Foundation Programmes into Specialty Training posts and arranges for the allocation of trainees to run-through rotations in Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 that are appropriate for their training needs.

 

The School of Paediatrics also oversees the quality of Paediatric training posts in conjunction with the RCPCH tutors, the Postgraduate Clinical Tutors and Directors of Medical Education.

The School of Paediatrics also:

  • Oversees the Higher Specialty Training (Level 3) schemes in general paediatricand the various paediatric specialties within and ensures that there are educational opportunities to meet the standards required by the RCPCH.
  • Ensures the provision of appropriate courses for examination preparation, the acquisition of essential competencies and general professional development.
  •  
  • Gives guidance about the appropriateness of courses to trainees in paediatrics at their various stages of development.
  • Assesses the progress of trainees, maintains appraisal systems for trainees and supervises their summative assessments.
  •  
  • Ensures adequate provision of career advice supported by up-to-date information on career opportunities.
  •  
  • Ensures that there is provision for potential progression into an academic career and for flexible training

 

The RCPCH runs examinations, organises courses and conferences, issues guidance on clinical and other issues relating to the welfare of children. It also has a major role in setting and maintaining professional standards. It was founded in 1996 but traces its origins back to the British Paediatric Association, founded in 1928, which acted as a focus for professional activity in the field of paediatrics prior to the formation of the College.

 

 Contacts:

Role

Area

Name

Email

Associate Postgraduate Dean for Paediatrics

Joint

Dr Aruna Hodgson

Aruna.Hodgson@hee.nhs.uk

Head of School

Joint

Dr Colin Morgan

colin.morgan@lwh.nhs.uk

Associate Head of School, National Grid and Careers Lead

Joint

Dr Ruth Gottstein

Ruth.gottstein@cmft.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST1 – 3

Mersey

Dr Nasim Mahmood

nasim.mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST4 – 8

Mersey

Dr Ian Kilroy

i.kilroy@nhs.net

Training Programme Director – ST1 – 3/Regional Lead

Manchester

Dr Sunil Bagewadi

Sunil.Bagewadi@nca.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST4 – 8

Manchester

Dr Guy Makin

Guy.Makin@mft.nhs.uk

Regional Lead

Mersey

Dr Rosaline Garr

rgarr@doctors.org.uk; rosaline.garr@nhs.net;

Regional Lead - deputy

Manchester

Dr Imran Zamir

Imran.zamir@mft.nhs.uk

Regional Lead – Academic

Mersey

Professor Calum Semple

M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk

Trainee Representative – LTFT

Mersey

Dr Violet Swain

nwltftrep@gmail.com

Trainee Representative – LTFT

Manchester

Dr Anna-Louise Power

nwltftrep@gmail.com

Trainee Representative

Mersey

Dr Thomas Leyland

Thomas.leyland1@nhs.net

Trainee Representative - ED and I

Mersey

Dr Kahled Hadi

khaledhadi_27@hotmail.com

Trainee Representative - ED and I

Manchester

Dr Maria Hadjicosta

mariaediman@yahoo.com

Trainee Representative - RCPCH

Manchester

Dr Shaun Lane

shaunlane@doctors.org.uk

Trainee Representative/Trainee Education Committee and Step Programme Lead

Mersey

Dr Peter Fielding

fielding.peter2@gmail.com

Trainee Representative – sub-specialty

Manchester

Dr Anna McNamara

annamcnamara@doctors.org.uk

SuppoRTT Champion and RCPCH LTFT Lead

Mersey

Dr Fulya Mehta

Fulya.Mehta@alderhey.nhs.uk

SuppoRTT Champion

Manchester

Dr Ranganna Ranganath

Ranganath.Ranganna@mft.nhs.uk

Stepping Up Champion

Mersey

Dr Helen Dallow

h.dallow@nhs.net

Stepping Up Champion

Manchester

Dr Merijam Kikic

Merijam.Kikic@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey

Mersey

Dr Kamran Mahmood

Kamran.Mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey (deputy)

Mersey

Dr Shirley Mulvaney

Shirley.Mulvaney@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey (deputy)

Mersey

Dr Maw Tan

Maw.Tan@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Arrowe Park -  Acute Paeds

Mersey

Dr Eleanor Derwas

ederwas@nhs.net

College Tutor - Arrowe Park – (deputy) – Neonates

Mersey

Dr Sarah Thompson

sarah.thompson49@nhs.net

College Tutor - Countess of Chester

Mersey

Dr Alison Timmis

alison.timmis@nhs.net

College Tutor - Leighton

Mersey

Dr Simon Burns

Simon.Burns@mcht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Liverpool Womens

Mersey

Dr Bala Palanisami

Balamurugan.Palanisami@lwh.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Macclesfield

Mersey

Dr Shailendra Rajput

shailendra.rajput@nhs.net

College Tutor - Southport

Mersey

Dr Sudhakar Kandasamy

sudhakar.kandasamy@nhs.net

College Tutor – Warrington

Mersey

Dr Aarti Sridharan

aarti.sridharan@nhs.net 

College Tutor - Whiston

Mersey

Dr Swathi Upadrasta

Swathi.Upadrasta2@sthk.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Wrexham & Glan Clwyd

Mersey

Dr Matthew Sandman

Matthew.Sandman@wales.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Blackburn

Manchester

Dr Ana Del-Rio

Ana.DelRio@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Blackpool

Manchester

Dr Wing Tang

wing.tang1@nhs.net

College Tutor - Bolton

Manchester

Dr Fiona Watson

Fiona.Watson@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bolton neonates

Manchester

Dr Affi-Anne Anosike

Affi-Anne.Anosike@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bolton, General

Manchester

Dr Thomas Webster

thomas.webster@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bury Community

Manchester

Dr Bratai Bose-Haider

Bratati.bosehaider@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Lancaster

Manchester

Dr Clare Peckham

Clare.Peckham@mbht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Neonates, Burnley

Manchester

Dr Raji Seethamraju

rajasri.seethamraju@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - NMGH - Paeds and Neonates

Manchester

Dr Kashif Iqbal

MuhammadKashif.Iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - North Manchester

Manchester

Dr Muhammad Iqbal

muhammadkashif.iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Oldham – Gen Paeds

Manchester

Dr Jill Mant

Jill.Mant@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Oldham – Gen Paeds

Manchester

Dr Michael Perkin

Michael.Perkin@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Oldham (Neo Grid) 

Manchester

Dr Khalid Ben Rahuma

Khalid.Benrahuma@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Preston

Manchester

Dr Santa Masila

Santa.Masila@LTHTR.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Preston (Paediatrics)

Manchester

Dr Samriddhi Padhye

Samriddhi.BharadwajPadhye@LTHTR.nhs.uk

College Tutor - RMCH ST1-3

Manchester

Dr Danielle Pask

Danielle.Pask@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - RMCH ST4-8

Manchester

Dr Eleanor Balmer

eleanor.balmer@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Salford

Manchester

Dr Adila Afzal

adila.afzal@srft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - SMH Neonates

Manchester

Dr Kristin Tanney

kristin.tanney@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Stockport

Manchester

Dr Elizabeth Shackley

Elizabeth.Shackley@stockport.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Tameside

Manchester

Dr Kelly Whitfield

kelly.whitfield@tgh.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Wigan

Manchester

Dr Ruth Anderson

Ruth.Anderson@wwl.nhs.uk;

(sec: gill.haynes@wwl.nhs.uk)

College Tutor deputy – Wigan

Manchester

Dr Sarah Hough

Sarah.Hough@wwl.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Wythenshawe

Manchester

Dr Kuldip Bakaya

kuldip.bakaya@mft.nhs.uk

Trainee Representative – deputy

Manchester

Dr Alice Willson

alice.willson@doctors.org.uk

Community Child Health Training Lead

Manchester

Dr Lizzie Wareing

elizabeth.wareing@mft.nhs.uk

Community Lead

Manchester

Dr Rebecca Shopland

Rebecca.Shopland@mcht.nhs.uk

Lead Employer – St Helens & Knowsley NHS Trust

Joint

 

Lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk

Lead Employer - website

Joint

 

www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk

Lead Employer - Payroll

Joint

 

leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator

Mersey

Mrs Jennie Tomley

Jennifer.Tomley@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator

Manchester

Mrs Michele Turner-Holmes

michele.turner-holmes@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Co-Ordinator

Joint

Mrs Caron Owens

caron.owens@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Manager

Joint

Ms Emma Woods

Emma.woods@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

Where we provide training:

For area map of locations click here:  Map

 The Cheshire and Mersey rotation includes the following trusts:

 

  • Alder Hey Children’s Hospital 
  • Arrowe Park Hospital 
  • Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Glan Clwyd Hospital 
  • Liverpool Women’s Hospital 
  • Macclesfield Hospital 
  • Mid-Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Ormskirk Hospital 
  • Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Whiston Hospital 
  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital 

 

The Greater Manchester and Lancashire rotation includes the following trusts:

 

  • Blackpool Victoria Hospital
  • Burnley General Hospital
  • Longsight Health Centre
  • North Manchester General Hospital
  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary
  • Royal Blackburn Hospital
  • Royal Bolton Hospital
  • Royal Lancaster Infirmary
  • Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
  • Royal Oldham Hospital
  • Royal Preston Hospital
  • St Mary's Hospital
  • Stepping Hill Hospital
  • Tameside General Hospital
  • Wythenshawe Hospital

 

Please find attached the trainee handbook for greater Manchester and Lancashire.

North West School of Paediatric Trainee Guide

Greater Manchester and Lancashire – go-to teaching website

 

ARCPs:

 * Please note the ARCP terminology has changed: 

Panel A is now known as an ASSESSMENT PANEL 

Panel B is now known as a FEEDBACK PANEL 

 

ARCP dates:  

Assessment Panels 

January & July   

Feedback Panels 

February & August 

 

Your administrator will email you with your ARCP date and the required documentation you need to complete. 

 

Virtual ARCPs for 2021

for Mersey and Manchester trainees

 

The ARCPs for 2021 will be conducted virtually using Microsoft Teams.

This means the panels will review the eportfolios remotely prior to the ARCP date. Therefore, all trainees must ensure all evidence required, is uploaded at least 2 weeks prior to the ARCP date. 

* Please note that your Educational Supervisor report MUST be completed and uploaded 2 weeks prior to the ARCP

On the day of the ARCP the panel will review all evidence again and reach a decision.  The trainee may be contacted within the ARCP, either by Microsoft Teams or phone, and given the ARCP outcome along with any recommended actions. All trainees being assessed will be required to make themselves available.

 

Evidence required for the ARCP

For further information regarding your ARCP during the Covid 19 pandemic, please refer to the ARCP guidance on the Royal College of paediatrics and Child Health website:  Link

 

1) Form R/Self-Declaration Form:

Please note in addition to the Form R Part A and B this year, you MUST also submit a Self-Declaration Form which is mandatory.

    https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/form-r

Please note if you have problems opening any of these documents via Chrome please try Internet Explorer

Form R part A and B along with the Self-Declaration Form, must be submitted to your School Administrator via the dedicated in box (Paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk ) noting in the subject heading if you are a Mersey or Manchester trainee, and uploaded to your eportfolio, at the latest, 2 weeks prior to your ARCP date.

2) CCT calculator:

 

Please refer to the RCPCH guidance on how to complete and download

The CCT calculator must be submitted to your School Administrator via the dedicated in box (Paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk ) noting in the subject heading if you are a Mersey or Manchester trainee, and uploaded to your eportfolio, at the latest, 2-4 weeks prior to your ARCP date.

3) Decision Aids:

 

Trainee MUST ensure they carefully read requirements for ARCP and upload all required evidence by the required dates noted within your ARCP invite email. You shoudl also take a copy of this document to your Educational Superviosr meeting as a point of reference.

Decision Aid Level 1 link

Decision Aid Level 2 link

Decision Aid Level 3 link

 

 

PLEASE NOTE:

Changes to the Educational Supervisor role wef September 2019.  See link: Educational Supervisor role

 

Guidance for the ARCP

Managing the eportfolio for ARCP:

 

To assist the ARCP process we require trainees to manage their eportfolios in an accessible format. The following link offers guidance on where to store your ARCP evidence.

Managing training posts on eportfolio:

 

The following offers guidance on how to enter your training posts on eportfolio.

Further links:

 

 

 

 

 

Important Dates:

ARCPs

Thursday 20th, Tuesday 25th and Thursday 27th  January 2022

Mersey and Manchester joint Assessment dates

 

Thursday 24th February 2022

Mersey and Manchester joint Feedback date

School Board

3rd November 2021

Paediatric School Board

Via: Microsoft Teams

Time: 14:00 – 16:00

 

STEP Teaching

2021

Contact for STEP Teaching: Lindsay Brunt, Medical Education Facilitator:  Lindsay Brunt 

Pg-education@alderhey.nhs.uk

( 0151 252 5106 (Internal Ext. 2106)    

Link:STEP teaching dates

 

Neonatal Neurology Education Session

Tuesday 20th July 2021  - 3 p.m - 6 p.m

Neonatal Neurology Education Session – Tuesday 20.7.21

Link

 

Return to Training Programme course

 25th Sept 2020

9th Jan 2021

12th Mar 2021

Places can be booked by contacting: suppoRTT@lthtr.nhs.uk

with details of name, programme (Specialty/Foundation) and year of training

Link: SuppoRTT course

 

HEE North West Links: 

Careers advice

Conditions of Joining a Specialty Training Programme

Form R: Form R Part A

              Form R Part B

Trainee guide

HEE Privacy notice

Inter-Deanery Transfer Policy

Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Training

Medical Leadership Training

Out of Programme (OOP) information

Note: for OOPR/OOPT you will also be required to complete this RCPCH form.

For OOPR submit to M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk for approval

For OOPT  for Mersey - submit to R. Garr, Regional Lead: rgarr@doctors.org.uk; rosaline.garr@nhs.net  

For OOPT  for Manchester - submit to N. Panwar, Regional Lead: Nitin.panwar@mft.nhs.uk

Paediatric Return to Training (RTT) course for Paediatric Trainees:  Link to poster
Paediatric SuppoRTT information and FAQs:  link

Policies & Procedures

Revalidation/email: revalidation.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Study leave/email: studyleave.nw@hee.nhs.uk

SupportRTT – Return to Training Programme

Training Support Network