North West School of Paediatrics

 

 

Welcome to the North West
School of Paediatrics

Introduction

Contacts

Where we provide training

ARCPs

Important dates

HEE North West Links

 

   Exclamation mark

Coronavirus (COVID 19)

Information can be found by clicking here

 

 

 

 Introduction:

 

The Deanery School of Paediatrics aims to provide a comprehensive high-quality teaching and education programme for those interested in training in paediatrics. Training in paediatrics in this deanery follows a syllabus set by The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) and takes account of national guidance by the General Medical Council.

 

The School of Paediatrics also provides strategic leadership for the recruitment of trainees to paediatric specialties. It arranges for the recruitment and induction of trainees from the Foundation Programmes into Specialty Training posts and arranges for the allocation of trainees to run-through rotations in Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 that are appropriate for their training needs.

 

The School of Paediatrics also oversees the quality of Paediatric training posts in conjunction with the RCPCH tutors, the Postgraduate Clinical Tutors and Directors of Medical Education.

The School of Paediatrics also:

  • Oversees the Higher Specialty Training (Level 3) schemes in general paediatricand the various paediatric specialties within and ensures that there are educational opportunities to meet the standards required by the RCPCH.
  • Ensures the provision of appropriate courses for examination preparation, the acquisition of essential competencies and general professional development.
  •  
  • Gives guidance about the appropriateness of courses to trainees in paediatrics at their various stages of development.
  • Assesses the progress of trainees, maintains appraisal systems for trainees and supervises their summative assessments.
  •  
  • Ensures adequate provision of career advice supported by up-to-date information on career opportunities.
  •  
  • Ensures that there is provision for potential progression into an academic career and for flexible training

 

The RCPCH runs examinations, organises courses and conferences, issues guidance on clinical and other issues relating to the welfare of children. It also has a major role in setting and maintaining professional standards. It was founded in 1996 but traces its origins back to the British Paediatric Association, founded in 1928, which acted as a focus for professional activity in the field of paediatrics prior to the formation of the College.

 

 Contacts:  

Head of North West School of Paediatrics:

Dr Colin Morgan

colin.morgan@lwh.nhs.uk 

Associate Head of North West School of Paediatrics: 

Dr Ruth Gottstein

ruth.gottstein@cmft.nhs.uk 

Associate Postgraduate Dean for School of Paediatrics:

Dr Aruna Hodgson     

Aruna.Hodgson@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

 

Training Programme Director:

Cheshire & Mersey ST1 – ST3

Dr Nasim Mahmood

nasim.mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director:

Cheshire & Mersey ST4 – ST8

Dr Ian Kilroy

I.Kilroy@nhs.net

Training Programme Director:

Greater Manchester & Lancashire ST1–ST3

Dr Sunil Bagewadi

sunil.bagewadi@pat.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director:

Greater Manchester & Lancashire ST4–ST8

Dr Guy Makin

guy.makin@cmft.nhs.uk

 

 

 

College Regional Lead: Cheshire & Mersey

Dr Rosaline Garr

rosaline.garr@nhs.net

 

College Regional Lead: Greater Manchester & Lancashire (deputy)

Dr Nitin Panwar

 

drn_panwar@yahoo.co.uk

College Regional Lead: Greater Manchester & Lancashire (deputy)

Dr Ranganath Ranganna

 

anganath.ranganna@mft.nhs.uk

Academic Regional Lead

Professor Calum Semple

M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

LTFT and Careers Lead

Dr Alison Jobling

alison.jobling@stockport.nhs.uk

 

SuppoRTT Champions

Dr Alison Jobling and Fulya Mehta

Alison.Jobling@stockport.nhs.uk 

and Fulya.Mehta@alderhey.nhs.uk

 

College Tutors

 

 

Alder Hey

Dr Kamran Mahmood

Kamran.Mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

Alder Hey (deputy)

Dr Shirley Mulvaney

Shirley.Mulvaney@alderhey.nhs.uk

Alder Hey (deputy)

Dr Tan Maw

Maw.Tan@alderhey.nhs.uk

Arrowe Park (deputy) Acute

Dr Eleanor Derwas

ederwas@nhs.net

Arrowe Park (deputy) - Neonates

Dr Sarah Thompson

sarah.thompson49@nhs.net

Blackburn

Dr Ana Del-Rio

Ana.DelRio@elht.nhs.uk

Blackpool

Dr Wing Tang

wing.tang1@nhs.net

Bolton

Dr Fiona Watson

Fiona.Watson@boltonft.nhs.uk

Bolton neonates

Dr Ula El-Kafrawy

Ula.El-Kafrawy@boltonft.nhs.uk

Burnley – Neonates

(covering Dr Seethamraju)

Dr Savi Sivashankar

Savi.Sivashankar@elht.nhs.uk

Bury Community

Dr Bratai Bose-Haider

Bratati.bosehaider@pat.nhs.uk

Countess of Chester

Dr Alison Timmis

alison.timmis@nhs.net

Lancaster

Dr Clare Peckham

Clare.Peckham@mbht.nhs.uk

Leighton

Dr Simon Burns

Simon.Burns@mcht.nhs.uk

Liverpool Womens

Dr Bala Palanisami

Balamurugan.Palanisami@lwh.nhs.uk

Macclesfield

Dr David Wright

davidwright2@nhs.net

NMGH

Dr Nadeem Jilani

Nadeem.Jilani@pat.nhs.uk

NMGH (covering Dr Jillani)

Dr Laura Downes

Laura.Downes@pat.nhs.uk

NMGH - Paeds and Neonates

Dr Kashif Iqbal

MuhammadKashif.Iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

Oldham - Gen Paeds

Dr Jill Mant

Jill.Mant@pat.nhs.uk

Oldham - Gen Paeds

Dr Michael Perkin

Michael.Perkin@pat.nhs.uk

Oldham (Neo Grid) 

Dr Khalid BenRahuma

Khalid.Benrahuma@pat.nhs.uk

Preston

Dr Santa Masila

Santa.Masila@LTHTR.nhs.uk

Preston (Paediatrics)

Dr Samriddhi Padhye

Samriddhi.BharadwajPadhye@LTHTR.

nhs.uk

RMCH ST1-3

Dr Danielle Pask

Danielle.Pask@mft.nhs.uk

RMCH ST4-8

Dr Louise Turnbull

Louise.Turnbull@mft.nhs.uk

Salford

Dr Adila Afzal

adila.afzal@srft.nhs.uk

SMH Neonates

Dr Ranganath Ranganna

Ranganath.Ranganna@mft.nhs.uk

Southport

Dr Sudhakar Kandasamy

sudhakar.kandasamy@nhs.net

Stockport

Dr Elizabeth Shackley

Elizabeth.Shackley@stockport.nhs.uk

Tameside

Dr Anjali Date

anjali.date@tgh.nhs.uk

Warrington

Dr Aarti Sridharan

aarti.sridharan@nhs.net 

Whiston

Dr Swathi Upadrasta

Swathi.Upadrasta2@sthk.nhs.uk

Wigan

Dr Ruth Anderson

Ruth.Anderson@wwl.nhs.uk

Wigan (deputy)

Dr Sarah Hough

Sarah.Hough@wwl.nhs.uk

Wrexham and Glan Clwyd

Dr Matt Sandman

Matthew.Sandman@wales.nhs.uk

Wythenshawe

Dr Kuldip Bakaya

kuldip.bakaya@mft.nhs.uk

 

 

 

Programme Support Manager

Emma Woods

emma.woods@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Co-ordinator

Caron Owens

Caron.owens@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator - Cheshire & Mersey

Jennifer Tomley

Jennifer.tomley@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator - Greater Manchester & Lancashire

Michele Turner-Holmes

michele.turner-holmes@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

 

Lead Employer

General enquiries

lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk

Website

www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk

Payroll

leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk

 

 

 

Where we provide training:

For area map of locations click here:  Map

 The Cheshire and Mersey rotation includes the following trusts:

 

  • Alder Hey Children’s Hospital 
  • Arrowe Park Hospital 
  • Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Glan Clwyd Hospital 
  • Liverpool Women’s Hospital 
  • Macclesfield Hospital 
  • Mid-Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Ormskirk Hospital 
  • Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Whiston Hospital 
  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital 

 

The Greater Manchester and Lancashire rotation includes the following trusts:

 

  • Blackpool Victoria Hospital
  • Burnley General Hospital
  • Longsight Health Centre
  • North Manchester General Hospital
  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary
  • Royal Blackburn Hospital
  • Royal Bolton Hospital
  • Royal Lancaster Infirmary
  • Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
  • Royal Oldham Hospital
  • Royal Preston Hospital
  • St Mary's Hospital
  • Stepping Hill Hospital
  • Tameside General Hospital
  • Wythenshawe Hospital

 

Please find attached the trainee handbook for greater Manchester and Lancashire.

North West School of Paediatric Trainee Guide

Greater Manchester and Lancashire – go-to teaching website

 

ARCPs:

 * Please note the ARCP terminology has changed: 

Panel A is now known as an ASSESSMENT PANEL 

Panel B is now known as a FEEDBACK PANEL 

 

ARCP dates:  

Assessment Panels 

January & July   

Feedback Panels 

February & August 

 

Your administrator will email you with your ARCP date and the required documentation you need to complete. 

 

Virtual ARCPs for summer 2020

for Mersey and Manchester trainees

 

The ARCPs for summer 2020 will be conducted virtually using Microsoft Teams.

This means the panels will review the eportfolios remotely prior to the ARCP date. Therefore, all trainees must ensure all evidence required, is uploaded at least 2 weeks prior to the ARCP date. 

* Please note that your Educational Supervisor report MUST be completed and uploaded 2 weeks prior to the ARCP

On the day of the ARCP the panel will review all evidence again and reach a decision.  The trainee may be contacted within the ARCP, either by Microsoft Teams or phone, and given the ARCP outcome along with any recommended actions. All trainees being assessed will be required to make themselves available.

 

Evidence required for the ARCP

For further information regarding your ARCP during the Covid 19 pandemic, please refer to the ARCP guidance on the Royal College of paediatrics and Child Health website:  Link

 

1) Form R/Self-Declaration Form:

Please note in addition to the Form R Part A and B this year, you MUST also submit a Self-Declaration Form which is mandatory.

Please note if you have problems opening any of these documents via Chrome please try Internet Explorer

Form R part A and B along with the Self-Declaration Form, must be submitted to your School Administrator via the dedicated in box (Paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk ) noting in the subject heading if you are a Mersey or Manchester trainee, and uploaded to your eportfolio, at the latest, 2 weeks prior to your ARCP date.

2) CCT calculator:

 

Please refer to the RCPCH guidance on how to complete and download

The CCT calculator must be submitted to your School Administrator via the dedicated in box (Paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk ) noting in the subject heading if you are a Mersey or Manchester trainee, and uploaded to your eportfolio, at the latest, 2-4 weeks prior to your ARCP date.

3) Decision Aids:

 

Trainee MUST ensure they carefully read requirements for ARCP and upload all required evidence by the required dates noted within your ARCP invite email. You shoudl also take a copy of this document to your Educational Superviosr meeting as a point of reference.

Decision Aid Level 1 link

Decision Aid Level 2 link

Decision Aid Level 3 link

 

 

PLEASE NOTE:

Changes to the Educational Supervisor role wef September 2019.  See link: Educational Supervisor role

 

Guidance for the ARCP

Managing the eportfolio for ARCP:

 

To assist the ARCP process we require trainees to manage their eportfolios in an accessible format. The following link offers guidance on where to store your ARCP evidence.

Managing training posts on eportfolio:

 

The following offers guidance on how to enter your training posts on eportfolio.

Further links:

 

 

 

 

 

Important Dates:

ARCPs

Jan/Feb 2021

Mersey ARCPs

Date yet to be confirmed

Jan/Feb 2021

Manchester ARCPs

Date yet to be confirmed 

School Board

21st Oct 2020

Paediatric School Board

Via: Microsoft Teams

Time: 14:00 – 16:00

21st Apr 2021

STEP Teaching

2019 - 2020

Contact for STEP Teaching: Lindsay Brunt, Medical Education Facilitator:  Lindsay Brunt 

Pg-education@alderhey.nhs.uk

( 0151 252 5106 (Internal Ext. 2106)    

Link: STEP dates

 

Neuropsychiatric Disorder Online Course

Friday 11th December 2020 - 10 am – 4 pm

Neuropsychiatric Disorders - FREE Online Course Link

Return to Training Programme course

 25th Sept 2020

9th Jan 2021

12th Mar 2021

Places can be booked by contacting: suppoRTT@lthtr.nhs.uk

with details of name, programme (Specialty/Foundation) and year of training

Link: SuppoRTT course

 

HEE North West Links: 

Careers advice

Conditions of Joining a Specialty Training Programme

Form R: Form R Part A

              Form R Part B

HEE Privacy notice

Inter-Deanery Transfer Policy

Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Training

Medical Leadership Training

North West School of Paediatric Trainee Guide

 

Out of Programme (OOP) information

Note: for OOPR/OOPT you will also be required to complete this RCPCH form.

For OOPR submit to M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk for approval

For OOPT  for Mersey - submit to R. Garr, Regional Lead: rgarr@doctors.org.uk; rosaline.garr@nhs.net  

For OOPT  for Manchester - submit to N. Panwar, Regional Lead: Nitin.panwar@mft.nhs.uk

Paediatric Return to Training (RTT) course for Paediatric Trainees:  Link to poster
Paediatric SuppoRTT information and FAQs:  link

Policies & Procedures

Revalidation/email: revalidation.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Study leave/email: studyleave.nw@hee.nhs.uk

SupportRTT – Return to Training Programme

Training Support Network