North West School of Paediatrics

 

 

Welcome to the North West
School of Paediatrics

Introduction

Contacts

Where we provide training

ARCPs

Important dates

HEE North West Links

 

https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supported-return-to-training

https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supportt-contacts

 

   Exclamation mark

Coronavirus (COVID 19)

Information can be found by clicking here

 

 

 

 Introduction:

 

The Deanery School of Paediatrics aims to provide a comprehensive high-quality teaching and education programme for those interested in training in paediatrics. Training in paediatrics in this deanery follows a syllabus set by The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) and takes account of national guidance by the General Medical Council.

 

The School of Paediatrics also provides strategic leadership for the recruitment of trainees to paediatric specialties. It arranges for the recruitment and induction of trainees from the Foundation Programmes into Specialty Training posts and arranges for the allocation of trainees to run-through rotations in Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 that are appropriate for their training needs.

 

The School of Paediatrics also oversees the quality of Paediatric training posts in conjunction with the RCPCH tutors, the Postgraduate Clinical Tutors and Directors of Medical Education.

The School of Paediatrics also:

  • Oversees the Higher Specialty Training (Level 3) schemes in general paediatricand the various paediatric specialties within and ensures that there are educational opportunities to meet the standards required by the RCPCH
  • Ensures the provision of appropriate courses for examination preparation, the acquisition of essential competencies and general professional development.
  • Gives guidance about the appropriateness of courses to trainees in paediatrics at their various stages of development.
  • Assesses the progress of trainees, maintains appraisal systems for trainees and supervises their summative assessments.
  • Ensures adequate provision of career advice supported by up-to-date information on career opportunities.
  • Ensures that there is provision for potential progression into an academic career and for flexible training

 

The RCPCH runs examinations, organises courses and conferences, issues guidance on clinical and other issues relating to the welfare of children. It also has a major role in setting and maintaining professional standards. It was founded in 1996 but traces its origins back to the British Paediatric Association, founded in 1928, which acted as a focus for professional activity in the field of paediatrics prior to the formation of the College.

 

 Contacts:

Role

Area

Name

Email

Head of School

Joint

Dr Colin Morgan

colin.morgan@lwh.nhs.uk

Associate Head of School, National Grid and Careers Lead

Joint

Dr Guy Makin Guy.Makin@mft.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST1 – 3

Mersey

Dr Nasim Mahmood

nasim.mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST4 – 8

Mersey

Dr Ian Kilroy

i.kilroy@nhs.net

Training Programme Director – ST1 – 3/Regional Lead

Manchester

Dr Sunil Bagewadi

Sunil.Bagewadi@nca.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST4 – 8    (wef 1.7.23)

Manchester

Dr Ranganna Ranganath

Ranganath.Ranganna@mft.nhs.uk

Associate Postgraduate Dean for Paediatrics Joint Dr Aruna Hodgson Aruna.Hodgson@hee.nhs.uk

Regional Lead – Academic

Mersey

Professor Calum Semple

M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk

Trainee Representative – LTFT

Mersey

Dr Violet Swain

nwltftrep@gmail.com

Trainee Representative – LTFT

Manchester

Dr Kate Bowman

nwltftrep@gmail.com

Trainee Representative - RCPCH

Mersey

Dr Charlotte King c.king26@nhs.net
Trainee Representative - RCPCH Manchester Dr Shaun Lane shaunlane@doctors.org.uk

Trainee Representative - ED and I

Mersey

Dr Kahled Hadi

khaledhadi_27@hotmail.com

Trainee Representative - ED and I

Manchester

Dr Reem Ghalib

reemwarsama@hotmail.com 

Trainee Representative/Trainee Education Committee and Step Programme Lead

Mersey

Dr Peter Fielding

fielding.peter2@gmail.com

Trainee Representative – deputy Manchester Dr Alice Willson alice.willson@doctors.org.uk

SuppoRTT Champion and RCPCH LTFT Lead

Mersey

Dr Fulya Mehta

Fulya.Mehta@alderhey.nhs.uk

SuppoRTT Champion

Manchester

TBC

 

Stepping Up Champion

Mersey

Dr Sally Ogden

steppingupmersey@gmail.com

Stepping Up Champion

Manchester

TBC

 

College Tutor - Alder Hey 

Mersey

Dr Shirley Mulvaney

Shirley.Mulvaney@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey (deputy)

Mersey

Dr Maw Tan

Maw.Tan@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Arrowe Park -  Acute Paeds

Mersey

Dr Eleanor Derwas

ederwas@nhs.net

College Tutor - Arrowe Park  – Neonates

Mersey

Dr Sarah Thompson

sarah.thompson49@nhs.net

College Tutor - Countess of Chester

Mersey

Dr Alison Timmis

alison.timmis@nhs.net

College Tutor - Leighton

Mersey

Dr Simon Burns

Simon.Burns@mcht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Liverpool Womens

Mersey

Dr Bala Palanisami

Balamurugan.Palanisami@lwh.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Macclesfield

Mersey

Dr Shailendra Rajput

shailendra.rajput@nhs.net

College Tutor - Southport

Mersey

Dr Sudhakar Kandasamy

sudhakar.kandasamy@nhs.net

College Tutor – Warrington

Mersey

Dr Aarti Sridharan

aarti.sridharan@nhs.net 

College Tutor - Whiston

Mersey

Dr Swathi Upadrasta

Swathi.Upadrasta2@sthk.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Wrexham & Glan Clwyd

Mersey

Dr Matthew Sandman

Matthew.Sandman@wales.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Blackburn

Manchester

Dr Rosemary Belderbos

rosemary.belderbos@elht.nhs.uk
College Tutor - Blackburn (deputy) Manchester Dr Jane Tan jane.tan@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Blackpool

Manchester

Dr Pavani Pakalapati 

suryapavani.pakalapati@nhs.net

College Tutor - Bolton neonates

Manchester

Dr Affi-Anne Anosike

Affi-Anne.Anosike@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bolton, General

Manchester

Dr Thomas Webster

thomas.webster@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bury Community

Manchester

Dr Bratai Bose-Haider

Bratati.bosehaider@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bury Community Manchester

Dr Bin Hooi Low

binhooi.low@nca.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Lancaster

Manchester

Dr Jayaprakash Rajaram jayaprakash.rajaram@mbht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Neonates, Burnley

Manchester

Dr Raji Seethamraju

rajasri.seethamraju@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Neonates, Burnley (standing in for Dr Seethamraju) Manchester Dr Savi Sivashhankar Savi.Sivashankar@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - NMGH - Paeds and Neonates

Manchester

Dr Kashif Iqbal

MuhammadKashif.Iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - North Manchester

Manchester

Dr Muhammad Iqbal

muhammadkashif.iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Oldham – Gen Paeds

Manchester

Dr Jill Mant

Jill.Mant@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Oldham – Gen Paeds

Manchester

Dr Michael Perkin

Michael.Perkin@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Oldham (Neo Grid) 

Manchester

Dr Khalid Ben Rahuma

Khalid.Benrahuma@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Preston

Manchester

Dr Santa Masila

Santa.Masila@LTHTR.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Preston (Paediatrics)

Manchester

Dr Prutha Shetty

prutha.shetty@lthtr.nhs.uk

College Tutor - RMCH ST1-3

Manchester

Dr Richard Curnock

Richard.Curnock@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - RMCH ST4-8

Manchester

Dr Eleanor Balmer

eleanor.balmer@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Salford

Manchester

Dr Amy Wilson

amy.wilson@nca.nhs.uk

College Tutor - SMH Neonates

Manchester

Dr Kristin Tanney

kristin.tanney@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Stockport

Manchester

Dr Helen Stannard

helen.stannard@stockport.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Tameside

Manchester

Dr Kelly Whitfield

kelly.whitfield@tgh.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Wigan

Manchester

Dr Sarah Hough

Sarah.Hough@wwl.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Wythenshawe

Manchester

Dr Kuldip Bakaya

kuldip.bakaya@mft.nhs.uk

Community Child Health Training Lead

Manchester

Dr Lizzie Wareing

elizabeth.wareing@mft.nhs.uk

Lead Employer – St Helens & Knowsley NHS Trust

Joint

 

Lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk

Lead Employer - website

Joint

 

www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk

Lead Employer - Payroll

Joint

 

leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator

Mersey

Mrs Jennie Tomley

j.tomley@nhs.net 

Programme Support Administrator

Manchester

Mrs Michele Turner-Holmes

m.turner-holmes@nhs.net

Programme Support Manager

Joint

Ms Emma Woods

 

emma.woods39@nhs.net 

 

 

 

Where we provide training:

For area map of locations click here:  Map

 The Cheshire and Mersey rotation includes the following trusts:

Alder Hey Children’s Hospital 

Arrowe Park Hospital 

Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust 

Glan Clwyd Hospital 

Liverpool Women’s Hospital 

Macclesfield Hospital 

Mid-Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 

Ormskirk Hospital 

Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 

Whiston Hospital 

Wrexham Maelor Hospital 

 

The Greater Manchester and Lancashire rotation includes the following trusts:

Blackpool Victoria Hospital

Burnley General Hospital

Longsight Health Centre

North Manchester General Hospital

Royal Albert Edward Infirmary

Royal Blackburn Hospital

Royal Bolton Hospital

Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

Royal Oldham Hospital

Royal Preston Hospital

St Mary's Hospital

Stepping Hill Hospital

Tameside General Hospital

Wythenshawe Hospital

 

ARCPs:

ARCP dates:  

Assessment Panels 

January & July   

Feedback Panels 

February & August 

 

Your administrator will email you with your ARCP date and the required documentation you need to complete.  You will also be able to find your future ARCP date within your previous ARCP on Kaizen.

 

Virtual ARCPs for Winter 2024

Mersey and Manchester trainees

ARCPs for Winter 2024 will be conducted virtually using Microsoft Teams on the dates below:
Assessment Panels: Will be carried out over 2 days on Thursday 25th January and Tuesday 30th January 24  (We do not provide PG Doctors with the exact date of their ARCP, due to a high level of movement within panels. This can continue to take place throughout the ARCP period).
Feedback panels: Will be carried out on Thursday 29th February 24 (please bear in mind that you may be invited to attend a virtual panel on this date)
 

Acceleration of Training at ARCP

If you wish to accelerate your training you must contact your Training Programme Director prior to the ARCP and copy in paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk
 
In general as training is now competency based, there is a degree of flexibility around CCT dates.
 
To successfully gain your CCT you would need to ensure:
  • ALL Level 3 competencies should be completed & evidenced in your e-portfolio (please refer to the ARCP checklist for general competencies).
  • Your Educational Supervisor (+/- clinical supervisor) reports must clearly support completion of level 3 competencies & CCT.
  • Your portfolio must reflect leadership & management competencies.
  • All items in your PDP should be addressed & completed.
  • START assessment must be completed, with reflection on any areas of feedback with actions. Ideally we like a minimum of 6m post start to deal with any development issues.
  • There is a minimum time period of 24 months WTE for level 3 training.
  •  

If you have a minimum of 24 months, & have all your competencies evidenced, then you would be eligible for CCT.

 

Evidence required for the ARCP

 

Eportfolio Completion Deadline: (Including CSAC report & CCT Calculator): 
Panels members will review Eportfolios remotely, during the 2 weeks prior to the first Assessment panel date. Therefore, all trainees must ensure that all evidence required, is uploaded no later thanThursday 11th January 24. 
 
*Please note that your Educational Supervisor reports and CSAC reports (CSAC - Grid trainees only) MUST be completed and uploaded by the deadline above. 
 
On the day of ARCP, panel members will share their findings with the rest of the panel and reach a decision.  You will receive an email following your ARCP with your outcome.

1) Form R/Self-Declaration Form:

PLEASE NOTE: Form R submission is now via TIS self-service.

You will recieve a letter about this with your ARCP invite Please read in fullYou can also find a detailed User Guide via https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/form-r  

The Deadline for Form R submission is between Thursday 9th November - no later than Thursday 7th December 23.  Please ensure that you upload a copy to your Eportfolio.
 
Please note: If there are any changes to these forms or any significant events occur between the date of your submission and your ARCP, please inform your administrator via paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk, complete a new Form via the above link and upload an updated version to your Eportfolio.
2) CCT calculator:
 

Please refer to the RCPCH guidance on how to complete and download your CCT Calculator.

Link to CCT calculator

Your CCT calculator must be uploaded to your Eportfolio by Thursday 11th January 24, along with the rest of your documentation.

You are no longer required to email a copy of your CCT Calculator.  The panel and your administrator will access this via your Eportfolio.

3) Decision Aids:  (you will be reviewed against these decision aids in line with the curriculum for your level of training.  OOP requirements are also included)  

 

PG Doctors MUST ensure they carefully read requirements for ARCP and upload all required evidence by the required dates noted within your ARCP invite email. You should also take a copy of this document to your Educational Supervisor meeting as a point of reference.

All doctors with a CCT date after September 2024 regardless of whether you are on a 7or 8-year curriculum, have been moved to the Progress Plus curriculum by RCPCH. In practice the evidence & competencies needed are virtually the same as the old Progress curriculum. All previous competencies have been migrated across to the new curriculum. Please check & if any concerns regarding non-migration contact RCPCH on training.services@rcpch.ac.uk

Assessment table for Drs gaining their CCT before 15 September 2024 (Progress)

Assessment Tables for Progress+

Trainig Posts:

All trainig posts must be up to date on your Eportfolio by Thursday 7th December 23

 

 

Requirements for OOP trainees:

OOPC

Form R and update regarding OOPC uploaded to Eportfolio library

OOPE

Form R and ESR on progress from OOPE supervisor

OOPR

Form R and ESR on progress of research towards the stated objectives from the research supervisor

OOPT

Full decision aid requirements 

 

PLEASE NOTE:

Changes to the Educational Supervisor role wef September 2019.  See link: Educational Supervisor role

 

Guidance for the ARCP

Managing the eportfolio for ARCP:

 

To assist the ARCP process we require trainees to manage their eportfolios in an accessible format. The following link offers guidance on how use and so this, including instructional videos and downloadable guides.

Managing training posts on eportfolio:

 

The following offers guidance on how to enter your training posts on eportfolio.  The College has combined the part of adding your supervisor with your training post, along with the appropriate Grade checklist

Further links:

 

 

 

 

 

Important Dates:

ARCPs

Tuesday 4th July - Tuesday 25th July 2023 (6 days of Assessment panels within these dates)

Mersey and Manchester joint Assessment Panel dates

 

  • Wednesday 2nd & Thursday 10th August 2023

Mersey and Manchester joint Feedback Panel date

School Board

Wednesday 8th November 2023

Paediatric School Board

Via: Microsoft Teams

Time: 2:00p.m. - 5:00p.m.

STEP Teaching

2023

Contact for STEP Teaching: Lindsay Brunt, Medical Education Manager:  Lindsay Brunt 

Pg-education@alderhey.nhs.uk

( 0151 252 5106 (Internal Ext. 2106)    

Link: STEP Teaching dates 2023

 

Neonatal Neurology Education Session

TBC

 

 

 

Return to Training Programme course 

 Wednesday 8th February 2023 @ Alder Hey Institute in the Park.  More dates for 2023 TBC

Places can be booked by contacting: lindsay.brunt@alderhey.nhs.uk

 

Link: SuppoRTT course

 

HEE North West Links: 

Careers advice

 
Lead Employer   

Conditions of Joining a Specialty Training Programme

Trainee guide - Greater Manchester and Lancashire

HEE Privacy notice

Inter-Deanery Transfer Policy

Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Training

Medical Leadership Training

Out of Programme (OOP) information

Note: for OOPR/OOPT - if the post does not have GMC approval you will be required to have RCPCH input fromm teh RCPCH Training and Quality Board for OOPT or Academic Regional Representative for OOPR. The application needs to be completed (RCPCH form) and submitted to training.services@rcpch.ac.uk

All OOP applications requiring RCPCH input must also include the postgraduate deanery information too and accompany the RCPCH OOP application form.

You can download the OOP application/approval letter

 

Acting up is approved for 3 months, if you require 6 months you must include an appropriate reason for the additional time and the benefits.  This will need approval from the Postgraduate Dean.  This will be requested by the Associate Dean on submission of the OOP to the Administration Team.

Paediatric Return to Training (RTT) course for Paediatric Trainees:  Link to poster
Paediatric SuppoRTT information and FAQs:  link

Policies & Procedures

Revalidation/email: revalidation.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Study leave/email: studyleave.nw@hee.nhs.uk

SupportRTT – Return to Training Programme

Training Support Network

Greater Manchester and Lancashire Trainee Website -   Greater Manchester and Lancashire – go-to teaching website

 

Cheshire and Merseyside Trainee Website - https://www.mc.nwpaediatrics.com/