North West School of ACCS

Welcome to the HEE NW School of ACCS

 

ACCS Training Programme

Training Programme Directors

Jon Argall – Training Programme Director: dr.argall@nhs.net

Tim Wharton– Mersey Training Programme Director: tim.wharton@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Associate Dean

Dr Alison Gale

Trust Appointed Training leads

For ACCS

Name

Trust / Role

Email

Argall, Jon

Blackpool - TPD NW

dr.argall@nhs.net
Bali, Trishan trainee rep trishanbali7@gmail.com
Ravishankar, Nagaraja

Pennine ACCS Lead Anaes

Nagaraja.Ravishankar@nca.nhs.uk

Brooks, Neil

Leighton

Neil.Brooks@mcht.nhs.uk

Butler, John

MRI

John.butler@cmft.nhs.uk

Clarke, Tim

Blackburn

Timothy.Clarke@elht.nhs.uk

Evans, Louise Stockport Louise.Evans@stockport.nhs.uk

Goddard, Chris

Southport & Ormskirk

christopher.goddard@nhs.net

Gotz, Vera

Lancaster - Acute Medicine and ICM

vera.gotz@mbht.nhs.uk

Jumani, Deepa

Warrington

Deepa.Jumani@whh.nhs.uk

Mittal, Rajnish

Countess of Chester

rajnish.mittal@nhs.net

Mohanraj, Arun

Wigan

Arun.Mohanraj@wwl.nhs.uk

Newton, Phillipa

UHSM Lead

pippa.newton@mft.nhs.uk

Swires-Hennessy, Kate

Macclefield

kate.swires-hennessy@nhs.net

O'leary, Clare

St Helens

clare.oleary@sthk.nhs.uk

Parkinson, Elizabeth

Wirral

eparkinson2@nhs.net

Devlin, Erin

Salford

Erin.Devlin@srft.nhs.uk

Roberts, Cath

Preston

Catherine.roberts@lthtr.nhs.uk

Stocks, Cam Manchester region ST1 Rep cam@camstocks.org

Williams, Cath

Bolton

catherine.williams@boltonft.nhs.uk

Wiles, Tom RLBUHT Tom.Wiles@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

The Support Team email address: accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Natalie Dawson: Programme Support Manager

Lindsey Robinson: Programme Support Co-ordinator

Gillian Johnson: Programme Support Officer

Sally Rylands: Programme Support Administrator

 

Mersey - Introduction/Overview of Programme

The ACCS training programme in Mersey is a two year rotation comprising of six months in each of Emergency Medicine (EM), Acute Medicine (AM), Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine (ICM). There are 22 posts in each of year one (ST1/CT1) and year two (ST2/CT2). Each year is made up of 18 posts which have EM as their parent specialty and 4 posts which have Anaesthesia as their parent specialty.

Most training tracks have EM and AM in year one and most trainees are based within one hospital for the two years of ACCS training.

North Western - Introduction/Overview of Programme

ACCS provides trainees with an interest in acute specialties with initial training in Acute Medicine, Anaesthesia, Emergency Medicine and Intensive Care Medicine. It is an entry pathway to Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine and both Acute Medicine and Core Medical Training. Currently ACCS is the only entry point for Emergency Medicine. The North Western Deanery ACCS training programme is a programme of two years duration (CT1 and CT2) and will provide 6 months training in each of the aforementioned specialties.

Emergency Medicine comprises of 25 CT1 posts of the ACCS rotation. During their time in this post trainees will be exposed to all aspects of emergency medical practice and will be given a basic grounding in the knowledge and skills necessary for safe practice. The syllabus will be that leading to the membership of the College of Emergency Medicine. At the end of CT2 trainees are competent to cover the middle grade rota in Emergency Medicine and Emergency Medicine badged trainee’s progress to ST3 year comprising paediatric and musculoskeletal Emergency Medicine.

The Anaesthetic component of the acute common stem is provided at a number of hospitals in the North West. These have been chosen at Trusts where anaesthetic and intensive care training has been of a consistently high standard. From August 2021-22 there will be 15 CT1 placements. The posts will be for a period of 6 months.

The objective of Intensive Care Medicine component of ACCS is to provide experience in the management of the critically ill patient, in a closely supervised environment. The ICM competencies outlined in the 2021-22 ACCS Curriculum are identical to those defined for core training by the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine and ACCS trainees can apply at ST3 level to the new ICM training programmes.

As of 2021-22 the selection process differs for each of the tracks (Acute Medicine, Anaesthesia and Emergency Medicine) within ACCS. There is currently no defined ICM track as ACCS is only one route to Specialty Training in ICM.

General Description of Rotation

ACCS training is offered in many of the hospitals within the Greater Manchester, Cumbria and Lancashire areas of the North Western Deanery. (Please see list attached below) In most cases training in each of the four component specialties will be offered within the same Trust, but where this is not possible, training will be in two Trusts with geographical co-locations.

Educational Opportunities

There is integrated training across the region for ACCS trainees.

Further Training Programme information, Lead Employer information and Regional Rotational Hospital list please see PDF documents below.

All Emergency Medicine Trainees Contact:accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk
 

Information for newly appointed Core Anaesthesia Trainees:

The Stage 1 programme is divided in to 2 separate “Schools” – North and South, and you will be allocated to North or South School for the full 4 years of your Stage 1 Training.

The hospitals in each school are:  

North School – TPD: Dr Oliver Pratt, Oliver.Pratt@NCA.nhs.uk

Royal Preston Hospital (and Chorley)

Blackpool

East Lancs (Blackburn and Burnley)

Lancaster

Salford

Royal Bolton

Wigan

South School – TPD: Dr Sophie Bishop sophie.bishop@mft.nhs.uk

Stepping Hill

Oldham

MFT - Wythenshawe

MFT - North Manchester

MFT – Manchester Royal Infirmary

Tameside

Please note, that you are accepting a post in the North West School. The TPDs will always endeavour to make your allocations convenient, but by accepting this post, you are effectively agreeing to work in any of the Hospitals in the North West region, from Lancaster in the North, to Stockport in the South.

ACCS Anaesthesia Trainee Contacts:
CT1 and CT2 ACCS Anaesthesia trainees please use accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk
CT3 ACCS Anaesthesia trainees please use anaesthesia.nw@hee.nhs.uk

ACCS Acute Medicine Trainee Contacts:
CT1 and CT2 ACCS Acute Medicine trainees please use accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk
CT3 ACCS Acute Medicine trainees please use mandy.taylor@hee.nhs.uk

 

Useful Links

From August 2021 a new curriculum for trainees doctors will go live

More information about  2021 curriculum  can be found: here 

RCEM members will be provided with a new ePortfolio platform (Kaizen).

For further information about the new ePortfolio, data migration  and Exams and Curriculum transitions please click: here

RCEM Data Migration to Kaizen August 2021 https://youtu.be/Xuj2y4gXdCo

 

For all Lead Employer Queries, please contact the Lead Employer Helpdesk -  0151 478 7777

or visit the new Lead Employer website here

 

http://classroom.stemlyns.org.uk/login/index.php St Emlyns Classroom

https://sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk/ - Lead Employer

http://www.rcoa.ac.uk/accs - ACCS http://www.rcem.ac.uk/ - The Royal College of Emergency Medicine

http://www.rcoa.ac.uk/ - The Royal College of Anaesthetists

https://www.rsm.ac.uk/ - The Royal College of Medicine