North West School of ACCS

Welcome to the HEE NW School of ACCS

 

ACCS Training Programme

Training Programme Directors

Jon Argall – Training Programme Director: dr.argall@nhs.net

Tim Wharton– Mersey Training Programme Director: tim.wharton@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Associate Dean

Dr Alison Gale

Trust Appointed Training leads

For ACCS

Name

Trust / Role

Email

Argall, Jon

Blackpool - TPD NW

dr.argall@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk

Baird, Sarah

Whiston – CT1 trainee rep

sbaird@doctors.org.uk

Bali, Trishan trainee rep trishanbali7@gmail.com

Barrie, Janet

Pennine ACCS Lead Anaes

Janet.Barrie@pat.nhs.uk

Brooks, Neil

Leighton

Neil.Brooks@mcht.nhs.uk

Butler, John

MRI

John.butler@cmft.nhs.uk

Clarke, Tim

Blackburn

Timothy.Clarke@elht.nhs.uk

Cockerham, Rowena

MRI/Trafford

Rowena.Cockerham@cmft.nhs.uk

Evans, Louise Stockport Louise.Evans@stockport.nhs.uk

Goddard, Chris

Southport & Ormskirk

christopher.goddard@nhs.net

Gotz, Vera

Lancaster - Acute Medicine and ICM

vera.gotz@mbht.nhs.uk

Holzmann, Tim

AIM Representative

Tim.Holzmann@srft.nhs.uk

Jumani, Deepa

Warrington

Deepa.Jumani@whh.nhs.uk

McGrattan, Ken

Preston

kenneth.mcgrattan@lthtr.nhs.uk

Mittal, Rajnish

Countess of Chester

rajnish.mittal@nhs.net

Mohanraj, Arun

Wigan

Arun.Mohanraj@wwl.nhs.uk

Newton, Phillipa

UHSM Lead

pippa.newton@mft.nhs.uk

Swires-Hennessy, Kate

Macclefield

kate.swires-hennessy@nhs.net

O'leary, Clare

St Helens

clare.oleary@sthk.nhs.uk

Parkinson, Elizabeth

Wirral

eparkinson2@nhs.net

Devlin, Erin

Salford

Erin.Devlin@srft.nhs.uk

Roberts, Cath

Preston

Catherine.roberts@lthtr.nhs.uk

Stocks, Cam Manchester region ST1 Rep cam@camstocks.org

Williams, Cath

Bolton

catherine.williams@boltonft.nhs.uk

Wiles, Tom RLBUHT Tom.Wiles@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

 

The Support Team

Natalie Dawson: Programme Support Manager

Lindsey Robinson: Programme Support Co-ordinator

Sally Rylands: Programme Support Administrator

The Support Team email address: accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk

 

Mersey - Introduction/Overview of Programme

The ACCS training programme in Mersey is a two year rotation comprising of six months in each of Emergency Medicine (EM), Acute Medicine (AM), Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine (ICM). There are 22 posts in each of year one (ST1/CT1) and year two (ST2/CT2). Each year is made up of 18 posts which have EM as their parent specialty and 4 posts which have Anaesthesia as their parent specialty.

Most training tracks have EM and AM in year one and most trainees are based within one hospital for the two years of ACCS training.

 

North Western - Introduction/Overview of Programme

ACCS provides trainees with an interest in acute specialties with initial training in Acute Medicine, Anaesthesia, Emergency Medicine and Intensive Care Medicine. It is an entry pathway to Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine and both Acute Medicine and Core Medical Training. Currently ACCS is the only entry point for Emergency Medicine. The North Western Deanery ACCS training programme is a programme of two years duration (CT1 and CT2) and will provide 6 months training in each of the aforementioned specialties.

The specialty of Acute Internal Medicine has one six-month post per rotation. Acute Internal Medicine training is based on the 2016 ACCS Curriculum and allows the trainee to achieve Level 1 competency in Acute Medicine. An optional third year of Acute Medicine is available for trainees who wish to achieve ST3 competencies prior to ST application. There are 5 Acute Medicine placements.

CT3 Acute medicine trainees are expected to meet the competencies detailed by the JRCPTB as per this document: https://www.jrcptb.org.uk/sites/default/files/2014%20Guidance%20for%20ACCS-AM%20CT3.pdf

Emergency Medicine comprises of 24 CT1 posts of the ACCS rotation. During their time in this post trainees will be exposed to all aspects of emergency medical practice and will be given a basic grounding in the knowledge and skills necessary for safe practice. The syllabus will be that leading to the membership of the College of Emergency Medicine. At the end of CT2 trainees are competent to cover the middle grade rota in Emergency Medicine and Emergency Medicine badged trainee’s progress to ST3 year comprising paediatric and musculoskeletal Emergency Medicine.

The Anaesthetic component of the acute common stem is provided at a number of hospitals in the North West. These have been chosen at Trusts where anaesthetic and intensive care training has been of a consistently high standard. For August 2016 there will be 10 CT1 placements. The posts will be for a period of 6 months.

The objective of Intensive Care Medicine component of ACCS is to provide experience in the management of the critically ill patient, in a closely supervised environment. The ICM competencies outlined in the 2015 ACCS Curriculum are identical to those defined for core training by the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine and ACCS trainees can apply at ST3 level to the new ICM training programmes.

As of 2016 the selection process differs for each of the tracks (Acute Medicine, Anaesthesia and Emergency Medicine) within ACCS. There is currently no defined ICM track as ACCS is only one route to Specialty Training in ICM.

 

General Description of Rotation

ACCS training is offered in many of the hospitals within the Greater Manchester, Cumbria and Lancashire areas of the North Western Deanery. (Please see list attached below) In most cases training in each of the four component specialties will be offered within the same Trust, but where this is not possible, training will be in two Trusts with geographical co-locations.

 

Educational Opportunities

There is integrated training across the region for ACCS trainees.

Further Training Programme information, Lead Employer information and Regional Rotational Hospital list please see PDF documents below.

 

Useful Links

From August 2021 a new curriculum for trainees doctors will go live

More information about  2021 curriculum  can be found: here 

RCEM members will be provided with a new ePortfolio platform (Kaizen).

For further information about the new ePortfolio, data migration  and Exams and Curriculum transitions please click: here

RCEM Data Migration to Kaizen August 2021 https://youtu.be/Xuj2y4gXdCo

 

All Emergency Medicine Trainees Contact:accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk

ACCS Anaesthesia Trainee Contacts:

CT1 and CT2 ACCS Anaesthesia trainees please use accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk
CT3 ACCS Anaesthesia trainees please use anaesthesia.nw@hee.nhs.uk

ACCS Acute Medicine Trainee Contacts:

CT1 and CT2 ACCS Acute Medicine trainees please use accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk
CT3 ACCS Acute Medicine trainees please use mandy.taylor@hee.nhs.uk

For all Lead Employer Queries, please contact the Lead Employer Helpdesk -  0151 478 7777

http://classroom.stemlyns.org.uk/login/index.php St Emlyns Classroom

https://sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk/ - Lead Employer

http://www.rcoa.ac.uk/accs - ACCS http://www.rcem.ac.uk/ - The Royal College of Emergency Medicine

http://www.rcoa.ac.uk/ - The Royal College of Anaesthetists

https://www.rsm.ac.uk/ - The Royal College of Medicine