North West School of Surgery - Core Surgical Training

North West Core Surgical Training

The purpose of Core Surgical Training is to allow the postgraduate doctor in training to develop the basic and fundamental surgical skills common to all surgical specialties, together with a few specialty-specific surgical skills.

Core Surgical Training in HEE North West is divided between two sectors and each have their own Training Programme Director. Please select one of the following for further information on each sector:

East Sector (North Western) – Greater Manchester, Lancashire and South Cumbria (former North Western Deanery)

West Sector (Mersey) – Cheshire and Merseyside (former Mersey Deanery)

HEE North West Programme Support for Core Surgical Training

Programme Support Officer for Surgery

Zarmina Ali *UPDATED 29 November 2021*

Zarmina is based at our Manchester office at Three Piccadilly Place.
Email: zarmina.ali@hee.nhs.uk
Tel: 0161 268 9743

Core Surgical Training Teaching Programme

From August 2018 there will be a single teaching programme for Core Surgical Training. Teaching will take place at different venues across the North West.

  • CT1/ST1 and CT2/ST2 teaching to take place on separate days to allow for cross cover within departments.
  • Teaching will take place for a full day once a month.
  • CT1/ST1 teaching will be the 2nd Wednesday of every month.
  • CT1/ST2 teaching will be the 4th Wednesday of every month.

 

Attendance at teaching is mandatory and doctors in training are required to attend a minimum of 70% (8 full teaching sessions).

 

Core Surgical Training Teaching Dates 2021/2022 *NEW* added 1 June 2021

Month CT1/ST1 Teaching Date
(8.30am to 4.30pm)
CT2/ST2 Teaching Date
(8.30am to 4.30pm)
August 2021

Monday 8 August 2021
Tuesday 10 August 2021
Doctors in training will be allocated to one of the two days

N/A

Wednesday 11 August 2021
HEE NW Educational Induction, mandatory for
CT1/ST1 to attend

Wednesday 25 August 2021
September 2021 Wednesday 8 September 2021 Wednesday 22 September 2021
October 2021 Wednesday 13 October 2021 Wednesday 27 October 2021
November 2021 Wednesday 10 November 2021 Wednesday 24 November 2021
December 2021 Wednesday 8 December 2021
Joint Teaching session for all doctors in training
January 2022 Wednesday 12 January 2022 Wednesday 26 January 2022
February 2022 Wednesday 9 February 2022 Wednesday 23 February 2022
March 2022 Wednesday 9 March 2022 Wednesday 23 March 2022
April 2022 Wednesday 13 April 2022 Wednesday 27 April 2022
May 2022 Wednesday 11 May 2022 Wednesday 25 May 2022
June 2022 Wednesday 8 June 2022 Wednesday 22 June 2022
July 2022 Wednesday 13 July 2022 Wednesday 27 July 2022

 

For further information, please visit the North West Core Surgical Training Website or email coresurgery@mft.nhs.uk

Core Surgical Training Curriculum

external link icon For the most up to date syllabus and curriculum, please visit the ISCP website

Certification Guidelines:

external link icon Pre-August 2021 curriculum ("old" curriculum)

external link icon Post-August 2021 curriculum ("new" curriculum)

National Core Surgical Training Recruitment

For August 2022 Recruitment Information, please visit the North West of England Core Surgical Training August 2022 Recruitment Information page:

Links

external link icon British Orthopaedic Association

external link icon Royal College of Surgeons of England

external link icon ENT UK

external link icon The British Association of Urological Surgeons

external link icon European Association of Urology

external link icon British Association of Paediatric Surgeons

external link icon Society for Cardiothoracic Surgery in Great Britain and Ireland

external link icon British Association of Plastic Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons

external link icon The Vascular Society for Great Britain and Ireland

HEE North West Links

Training Support Network

SuppoRTT (Supported Return to Training)

Study Leave | Email: studyleave.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Out of Programme (OOP) information

Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Training

Policies & Procedures

Revalidation | Form R | Email: revalidation.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Leadership courses (Medical Leadership Fellowships, Postgraduate Module in Medical Leadership)

Education courses (PG Certificate in Workplace Based Postgraduate Medical Education Fellowship) | Email: facultydevelopment.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Careers advice

Intra-LETB Transfer Policy for transferring between sectors within HEE NW (on Policies and Procedures page)


Page Last Updated 14 December 2021

Core Surgical Training