North West School of Emergency Medicine


Welcome to the HEE NW School of Emergency Medicine


The School of Emergency Medicine encompasses the northwest of England, from Lancaster in the north, the Wirral to the west and Crewe in the south. We are a single school with equal training opportunities across the region but the training rotations are divided into Mersey and North Western (Greater Manchester). The school is responsible for EM trainees in ST3 – ST6; trainees in CT1 & 2 are part of the ACCS Training Programme.


The Team:

Head of School:

Tamsin Dunn


Tel: 0161 291 6048

Manchester EM Training Programme Director ST3-6:

Richard Parris


Tel: 01204 390394

Mersey EM Training Programme Director ST3-6:

Richard Hughes


Tel: 0151 529 2529

The Support Team:

Natalie Dawson: - Programme Support Manager

Karen Dorr: - Programme Support Co-ordinator, ACCS & Emergency

Medicine Michelle Price: - Programme Support Administrator

The Support Team email address:-

The School aims to provide easily contactable and approachable leads who will respond to your queries. Virtually all correspondence from the school will be via e-mail, so it is essential that you provide us with an up-to-date e-mail account that is checked regularly.

School Structure:

The Associate Dean, Head of School, TPDs for EM and ACCS, and the support team meet twice a year for the school executive board meeting where the strategic plans are discussed, policies are agreed and the plans for the year ahead are agreed.

Specialty Training Committee:

There are 2 STCs, annually. These committees consist of the Head of School, the EM TPD's, the Trust Specialty Training Lead (TSTL) from each training site, sub specialty programme leads and the trainee representatives. The STC meets twice yearly to discuss and disseminate the School’s strategic and educational programme.

Return to work information can be found in the attached documnets below.

Training Sites, Training Rotation information, TSTLs Information and Lead Employer Information can be viewed in PDF documents below.