North West School of Emergency Medicine

 

Welcome to the HEE NW School of Emergency Medicine

 

 

The School of Emergency Medicine encompasses the northwest of England, from Lancaster in the north, the Wirral to the west and Crewe in the south. We are a single school with equal training opportunities across the region but the training rotations are divided into Mersey and North Western (Greater Manchester). The school is responsible for EM trainees in ST3 – ST6; trainees in CT1 & 2 are part of the ACCS Training Programme.

The Team:

Head of School:

Tamsin Dunn

Email: tamsin.dunn@mft.nhs.uk

           tamsin.dunn@hee.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 291 6048

Manchester EM Training Programme Director ST3-6:

Richard Parris

Email: drrichardparris@gmail.com

Tel: 01204 390394

Mersey EM Training Programme Director ST3-6:

Richard Hughes

Email: richard.hughes@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 529 2529

EM Leaders Programme Name Email
Regional Quality Improvement Project Lead Neill Hughes Neill.hughes@srft.nhs.uk
Regional Simulation Lead Annemarie Brown Annemarie.Brown@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Mersey Leadership Lead Tom Wiles Tom.Wiles@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Greater Manchester Leadership Lead Richard Parris drrichardparris@virginmedia.com

 

 

 

 

 

Return To Training Champion for School of EM:

Catherine Jackson,     email: catherine.jackson@mft.nhs.uk

 

         Trust Speciality Training Leads for Emergency Medicine

Name

Trust / Role

Email

Maryanji, Nina Aintree Hospital Nina.Maryanji@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Stibbards, Sarah Alder Hey Hospital Sarah.Stibbards@alderhey.nhs.uk
Langhor, Denise Arrowe Park d.langhor@nhs.net
Mittal, Rajnish Chester rajnish.mittal@nhs.net
Brock, Caroline Lancaster Caroline.brock@mbht.nhs.uk
Ahmad, Seif Leighton Seif.Ahmad@mcht.nhs.uk
Bartram, Tom Macclesfield thomas.bartram@nhs.net
Godfrey, Joey MRI Joseph.Godfrey@mft.nhs.uk
Potier, Katherine North katherine.potier@cmft.nhs.uk
Gili, Nick Oldham nicholas.gili@pat.nhs.uk
Wilson, Nicola RMCH Nicola.Wilson@mft.nhs.uk
Bhattacharyya, Sanjoy Royal Blackburn Hospital sanjoy.bhattacharyya@elht.nhs.uk
Williams, Cath Royal Bolton Hospital catherine.williams@boltonft.nhs.uk
Brown, Ann Marie  Royal Liverpool Hospital Annemarie.Brown@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Walthall, Kirsten Preston Kirsten.Walthall@LTHTR.nhs.uk
Kidner, Nigel Royal Victoria Hospital, Blackpool Mr.Kidner@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk
Hughes, Neill Salford Royal Neill.hughes@srft.nhs.uk
Taylor, Richard Southport and Ormskirk richard.taylor36@nhs.net
Das, Souvik Stockport souvik.das@stockport.nhs.uk
Richardson, Sally Warrington Hospital Sally.Richardson@whh.nhs.uk
Langston, Sarah Whiston Hospital  Sarah.Langston@sthk.nhs.uk
Abbasi, Ayaz-Ahmed Wigan ayaz-ahmed.abbasi@wwl.nhs.uk
Farook, Saleem Wythenshawe Kaleelullah.Farook@mft.nhs.uk
     

 

The Support Team:

Natalie Dawson: - Programme Support Manager

Lindsey Robinson: - Programme Support Co-ordinator, ACCS & Emergency Medicine

Sally Rylands: - Programme Support Administrator

The Support Team email address:- accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk

The School aims to provide easily contactable and approachable leads who will respond to your queries. Virtually all correspondence from the school will be via e-mail, so it is essential that you provide us with an up-to-date e-mail account that is checked regularly.

 

School Structure:

The Associate Dean, Head of School, TPDs for EM and ACCS, and the support team meet twice a year for the school executive board meeting where the strategic plans are discussed, policies are agreed and the plans for the year ahead are agreed.

 

Specialty Training Committee:

There are 2 STCs, annually. These committees consist of the Head of School, the EM TPD's, the Trust Specialty Training Lead (TSTL) from each training site, sub specialty programme leads and the trainee representatives. The STC meets twice yearly to discuss and disseminate the School’s strategic and educational programme.

 

Training Reps:

Mersey:

ST3 Christina Mulholland christinamul@hotmail.co.uk

HST Jemma Hall jemmabutler-cain@doctors.org.uk

 

Manchester:

ST3 Chris Wheeler chris.wheeler@doctors.org.uk

HST Rebecca Riley rebeccariley@doctors.org.uk

 

Useful Links

From August 2021 a new curriculum for trainees doctors will go live

More information about  2021 curriculum  can be found: here 

RCEM members will be provided with a new ePortfolio platform (Kaizen).

For further information about the new ePortfolio, data migration  and Exams and Curriculum transitions please click: here

RCEM Data Migration to Kaizen August 2021 https://youtu.be/Xuj2y4gXdCo

 

Which exams are changing in August 2021?

Please use the link below for 2021 examination changes.

https://www.rcem.ac.uk/RCEM/Exams_Training/Exams/Exams_FAQs/RCEM/Exams_Training/Exams/Exams_FAQs.aspx?hkey=963ef7e6-2e0b-41c1-9365-10727269db4a#Which%20exams%20are%20changing%20in%20August%202021

 

Return to work information can be found in the attached documents

 

For all Lead Employer Queries, please contact the Lead Employer Helpdesk -  0151 478 7777

 

Training Sites, Training Rotation information, TSTLs Information and Lead Employer Information can be viewed in PDF documents attached.

 

LESS THAN FULL TIME PILOT 

Applications are now open for the Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Pilot.  Please refer to the attachment above titled Opportunities for EM LTFT Project_Guidance_171219 FINAL.pdf 

 

Applications are via the LTFT Team.  Please note Category 3 on your eligibility form which can be located at the following link:  https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/content/less-full-time-training

Please note, the cut-off date for trainees to submit an eligibility request is 23.02.20