North West School of Emergency Medicine

 

Welcome to the HEE NW School of Emergency Medicine

 

 

The School of Emergency Medicine encompasses the northwest of England, from Lancaster in the north, the Wirral to the west and Crewe in the south. We are a single school with equal training opportunities across the region but the training rotations are divided into Mersey and North Western (Greater Manchester). The school is responsible for EM trainees in ST3 – ST6; trainees in CT1 & 2 are part of the ACCS Training Programme.

The Team:

Head of School: Richard Parris                Email: richard.parris@hee.nhs.uk      

Training Programme Directors:      

Training Grade Name Email
ST1 Mersey (ACCS) Tim Wharton tim.wharton@liverpoolft.nhs.uk  
ST1 Northwest (ACCS) Jon Argall dr.argall@nhs.net  
ST3 Mersey  Sarah Langston sarah.langston@sthk.nhs.uk  
ST3 Northwest Cath Williams catherine.williams@boltonft.nhs.uk  
ST4+ Mersey  Richard Hughes richard.hughes@liverpoolft.nhs.uk  
ST4+ Northwest Neill Hughes Neill.Hughes@nca.nhs.uk
TPD Simulation Mersey Annemarie Brown Annemarie.Brown@rlbuht.nhs.uk
TPD Simulation Northwest Kirsten Walthall

Kirsten.Walthall@LTHTR.nhs.uk

Return to Training Champion Catherine Jackson catherine.jackson@mft.nhs.uk
Training Reps :      
ST3 Mersey Gaby Timmins gabriella.timmins@nhs.net  
ST4-6 Mersey Chris Eddlestone ceddlestone7@gmail.com  
ST3 Northwest Chris Wheeler chris.wheeler@doctors.org.uk  
ST4-6 Northwest Rebecca Riley rebeccariley@doctors.org.uk
EM Leaders  Name Email
Contact for EM Leaders advice: Neill Hughes Neill.hughes@srft.nhs.uk
Annemarie Brown Annemarie.Brown@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Tom Wiles Tom.Wiles@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Richard Parris richard.parris@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Trust Speciality Training Leads for Emergency Medicine
Name Trust / Role   Email
George, Binu Aintree Hospital  

BINU.GEORGE2@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Messahel, Shrouk Alder Hey Hospital   Shrouk.Messahel@alderhey.nhs.uk
Parkinson, Liz Wirral University Teaching Hospital   eparkinson2@nhs.net
Mittal, Rajnish Chester   rajnish.mittal@nhs.net
Brock, Caroline Lancaster   Caroline.brock@mbht.nhs.uk
Darlington, Carol  Leighton   Carol.Darlington@mcht.nhs.uk
Bartram, Tom Macclesfield   thomas.bartram@nhs.net
Godfrey, Joey MRI   Joseph.Godfrey@mft.nhs.uk
Potier, Katherine North   katherine.potier@cmft.nhs.uk
Gili, Nick Oldham   nicholas.gili@pat.nhs.uk
Wilson, Nicola RMCH   Nicola.Wilson@mft.nhs.uk
Bhattacharyya, Sanjoy Royal Blackburn Hospital   sanjoy.bhattacharyya@elht.nhs.uk
Williams, Cath Royal Bolton Hospital   catherine.williams@boltonft.nhs.uk
Brown, Ann Marie  Royal Liverpool Hospital   Annemarie.Brown@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Walthall, Kirsten Preston   Kirsten.Walthall@LTHTR.nhs.uk
Kidner, Nigel Royal Victoria Hospital, Blackpool   Mr.Kidner@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk
Hughes, Neill Salford Royal   Neill.hughes@srft.nhs.uk
Taylor, Richard Southport and Ormskirk   richard.taylor36@nhs.net
Das, Souvik Stockport   souvik.das@stockport.nhs.uk
Adebowale, Adebola Warrington Hospital   Adebola.Adebowale1@nhs.uk
Langston, Sarah Whiston Hospital    Sarah.Langston@sthk.nhs.uk
Abbasi, Ayaz-Ahmed Wigan   ayaz-ahmed.abbasi@wwl.nhs.uk
Farook, Saleem Wythenshawe   Kaleelullah.Farook@mft.nhs.uk

 

The Support Team:

Natalie Dawson: - Programme Support Manager

Lindsey Robinson: - Programme Support Co-ordinator, ACCS & Emergency Medicine

Gillian Johnson: Programme Support Officer

Sally Rylands: - Programme Support Administrator

The Support Team email address:- accsem.nw@hee.nhs.uk

The School aims to provide easily contactable and approachable leads who will respond to your queries. Virtually all correspondence from the school will be via e-mail, so it is essential that you provide us with an up-to-date e-mail account that is checked regularly.

School Structure:

The Associate Dean, Head of School, TPDs for EM and ACCS, and the support team meet twice a year for the school executive board meeting where the strategic plans are discussed, policies are agreed and the plans for the year ahead are agreed.

Specialty Training Committee:

There are 2 STCs, annually. These committees consist of the Head of School, the EM TPD's, the Trust Specialty Training Lead (TSTL) from each training site, sub specialty programme leads and the trainee representatives. The STC meets twice yearly to discuss and disseminate the School’s strategic and educational programme.

Useful Links

From August 2021 a new curriculum for trainees doctors will go live

More information about  2021 curriculum  can be found: here 

RCEM members will be provided with a new ePortfolio platform (Kaizen).

For further information about the new ePortfolio, data migration  and Exams and Curriculum transitions please click: here

RCEM Data Migration to Kaizen August 2021 https://youtu.be/Xuj2y4gXdCo

 

Which exams are changing in August 2021?

Please use the link below for 2021 examination changes.

https://www.rcem.ac.uk/RCEM/Exams_Training/Exams/Exams_FAQs/RCEM/Exams_Training/Exams/Exams_FAQs.aspx?hkey=963ef7e6-2e0b-41c1-9365-10727269db4a#Which%20exams%20are%20changing%20in%20August%202021

 

Return to work information can be found in the attached documents

 

For all Lead Employer Queries, please contact the Lead Employer Helpdesk -  0151 478 7777

or visit the new Lead Employer website here

 

 

Training Sites, Training Rotation information, TSTLs Information and Lead Employer Information can be viewed in PDF documents attached.